• Marysa Navarro Book Prize

  • Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize

  • Best Dissertation Prize

  • Best Digital Scholarship/Pedagogy Project (alternating every two years) – 2023

  • Best Translation Prize (alternating every two years) – 2024

  • D. Scott Palmer Best Edited Book Prize (alternating every two years) – 2024

  • Best Multimedia Prize(alternating every two years) – 2023
Submit Manuscript

Submission Guidelines

The submission deadline is Saturday, July 1, 2023

  • Authors working in or defending their work (for dissertations) at a institutions of
    higher education in New England and NY; OR
  • Authors currently living in the NECLAS area of New England and NY ;
  • AND Authors who are current members of NECLAS 

Marysa Navarro Best Book Prize

Past Winners


Javier Puente, The Rural State: Making Comunidades, Campesinos, and Conflict in Peru’s Central Sierra, University of Texas Press, 2022

Peter Klein, Flooded:  Development, Democracy and Brazil’s Belo Monte Dam, Rutgers University Press, 2022

2022- David Tavárez.

Rethinking Zapotec Time: Cosmology, Ritual, and Resistance in Colonial Mexico, University of Texas Press, 2022

2019 – Tortorici, Zeb.  Sins Against Nature, Sex and Archive in Colonial New Spain.  Durham NC:
Duke University Press, 2018.

2018 – Alvaro Jarrin. Biopolitics of Beauty Berkeley: University of California Press, 2017


Honorable Mentions


2019 – Sutton, Barbara. Surviving State Terror, Women’s Testimonies of Repression and Resistance in
Argentina. New York: New York University Press, 2018

2018 – Mallory E. Matsumoto. Land, Politics, and Memory in Five Nija’ib’ K’iche’ Títulos: “The Title and Proof of Our Ancestors”  


About Marysa Navarro-Aranguren

Marysa Navarro-Aranguren is a Professor Emerita of History and the Charles A. and Elfriede A. Collis Professor Emerita in History at Dartmouth College. She joined the Dartmouth College History Department in 1968 and taught courses on the Spanish Conquest, the History of Brazil, the History of Contemporary Latin America, Slavery, Revolution and Bureaucratic Authoritarianism. She has written and edited several books on Rightwing Thought in Argentina, Eva Perón, Women’s History and Women’s Studies, as well as numerous articles. Since her retirement she has been appointed Resident Scholar at the David Rockefeller Institute for Latin American Studies, Harvard University. Dr. Navarro-Aranguren supported NECLAS in numerous roles for thirty years and most recently was Secretary-Treasurer of NECLAS from 2004- 2013.

In honor of her efforts, NECLAS now offers the annual Marysa Navarro Best Book Prize.

Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize

2023 Winner

2023- Maria G. Gatti

“Good Neighbor, Bad Neighbor: Fact and Fiction in an FBI Investigation of Brazilian Literature during World War II,” Hispanic American Historical Review 102, no. 3 (2022): 449-480.

Past Winners
2021 – Michelle Farrell, “Disrupting the Algorithm: The Streaming
Platforms in the Cuban Audiovisual Landscape: El paquete semanal, Netflix, and Mi Mochila.” Cuban Studies (50): 186-204
2020 – Gema Kloppe-Santamaría: “Lynching and the Politics of State Formation in Post-revolutionary Puebla”


2019 – Pugh, Jeffrey D. “Negotiating Identity and Belonging Through the Invisibility Bargain:
Colombian Forced Migrants in Ecuador”. IMR (International Migration Review) Volume 52
Number 4 (Winter 2018): 978–1010


2018 – Anne Eller, Yale.”Rumors of Slavery: Defending Emancipation in a Hostile Caribbean.” American Historical Review, 122:3 (June 2017), 653-679.

About Joseph T. Criscenti

Joseph T. Criscenti was a history professor at Boston College from 1955 to 1988 and retired professor emeritus of history. He specialized in Argentine history, especially the formation of the Argentine Republic. His article “Argentine Constitutional History, 1810-1852: A Re-examination,” published in the Hispanic American Historical Review, won the James Alexander Robertson Prize of the Conference on Latin American History (CLAH) in 1961. After retirement, Dr. Criscenti remained active and completed thirteen years as a contributing editor of the Handbook of Latin American Studies published by the Library of Congress. Dr. Criscenti was a founder of the New England Council of Latin American Studies, and the Secretary-Treasurer for nearly twenty years.

In honor of his efforts, NECLAS now offers the annual Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize.

D. Scott Palmer Best Edited Book Prize

Past Winners

2022 -Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas and Mérida M. Rúa.Critical Dialogues in Latinx Studies
New York University Press, 2021

2018 – Melvin, Karen and Sylvia Sellers–García. Imagining Histories of Colonial Latin America. Synoptic Methods and Practices. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2017.

About D. Scott Palmer

Scott Palmer taught at Bowdoin College before moving to Arlington, Virginia in 1976 to work for the U.S. Department of State at the Foreign Service Institute as Chair of Latin American and Caribbean Studies and Associate Dean for Programs of the School of Area Studies. In 1988, he became a professor at Boston University where he served as Chairman of the Political Science Department, Associate Chairman of the Department of International Relations, Director of Latin American Studies, and Co-Director, with his wife, Diane, of Peru Summer programs.

In honor of his efforts, NECLAS offers the D. Scott Palmer Best Edited Book Prize.

NECLAS Best Dissertation Prize

2023 Winner

Hannah R. Abrahamson

“Women of the Encomienda: Households and Dependents in Sixteenth-Century Yucatan, Mexico”

Past Winners

2022- Hannah Greenwald

Now I Walk on Foreign Soil: Settler Colonialism in Argentina’s Southern Borderlands, 1867-1899
Ph.D. Dissertation, Yale University, 2022

2021 – Daniel McDonald, Brown University, Peripheral Citizenship: The Popular Politics of Rights, Welfare, and Health in São Paulo, 1964-1990

2019 – Co-Winners – Rachel Nolan, Children for Export, NYU; Santiago Muñoz Arbeláez, The New Kingdom of Granada; Yale University

Best Multimedia Prize

2023 Winner

Valeria Meiller

Ruge El Bosque


NECLAS Best Translation Prize

2022 Winner

Celeste Kostopulos-Cooperman
Marjorie Agosín, Beyond the Time of Words
Translation of Más allá del tiempo de las palabras,

Sixteen Rivers Press, 2022.

Honorable Mention

Ulalume González de León, Plagios, Letras Mexicanos, 2001; A Bilingual Edition
Translated by Terry Ehret, John Johnson, and Nancy J. Morales. Plagiarisms, Sixteen Rivers Press, 2022.




Past Conferences







About Us




New England Council of Latin American Studies Secretariat
Department of Political Science
Pendleton East Room 249
Wellesley College
106 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02481

Copyright © 2022
New England Conference of Latin American Studies.
All rights reserved.